Friday Funny- Women are a Mystery…

What are some of the things that make you go, “Hmmm…?”

If you answered ‘Women’ then you are in the same league as Stephen Hawking– world-renowned physicist.

To be fair, the guy may have been making a joke, but when New Scientist interviewed him for his upcoming medically improbable 70’th birthday they asked him,

What do you think most about during the day?

He answered,

“Women. They are a complete mystery.”

What do you think?  Is he kidding?  For a man who was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s disease when he was 21 and has been wheelchair bound and completely paralyzed since 1970 getting to talk to anyone with a computer voice box, regardless of their sex, would be difficult for a casual conversation, much less to pick their brain.

But, for someone who was able to declare that heaven is a fairy story for those afraid to die and that there is no need to believe in a creator to explain the existence of the universe; the fact that women would prove an enigma to him seems ironic.

Top: Cleopatra, Murasaki Shikibu, Queen Elizabeth I / Middle: Harriet Tubman, Florence Nightingale, Helen Keller / Bottom: Indira Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Georgia O'Keeffe

Upon further consideration, you are correct, sir, we do leave a lot to ponder.

Now ponder the following Trivia of Famous Women in History from Braingle.com:

  1. This woman lived in Philadelphia and sewed the first American flag.
  2. This woman said, “Men, their rights and nothing more; women, their rights and nothing less.” She is pictured on a dollar coin.
  3. As a child, this woman wanted to become a professional tennis player, but she became the first American woman to orbit the Earth instead.
  4. This woman was responsible for the bus boycott in Montgomery, Alabama during the Civil Rights Movement.
  5. This woman was born into slavery, but she escaped and became an engineer on the Underground Railroad.
  6. This woman was known for her writing, international peace-keeping efforts, and founding the Hull-House in Chicago.
  7. This woman was blind, deaf, and mute due to a childhood illness. Her teacher was Anne Sullivan.
  8. This woman was a Powhatan Indian who brought food to hungry colonists. Disney made an animated movie about her in 1995.
  9. This woman was the first woman to be appointed to the Supreme Court.

Most of the time, and it doesn’t matter how feminist you claim to be, you have to admit that when you think of women you think of women being mothers– whether that is good, bad or indifferent; biologically it was the set up put in place.

What do you think of when you think of mothers?  Your own? Good ones, bad ones?  The iconic image of a mother is…

Now you can add…

Sarah McKinley shot and killed an intruder when a pair of men broke into her home. The details have varied from ‘sketchy guy first contacted her after husband’s funeral claiming to be a friend of his’, to a stalker she was having trouble with, to (in the story I linked) an intruder searching for left over-pain meds at the house from the deceased husband’s medical decline.

Either way, it made headlines because she called 911 to ask if she could shoot the guy if he came through the door.  The 911 operator correctly, in my opinion, told her should couldn’t advise her in any such way, but to do what she had to protect her baby.  That’s right, she had her 3 month old son with her hiding in the bedroom and she could see that at least one of the guys had a hunting knife when him and the accomplice pulled up to the house, which was later confirmed by the police affidavit.

On a slightly different note, if you need a really sweet diversion  go read The Oatmeal’s ‘This is Why an Octopus is More Awesome Than Your Mom‘.I promise, it won’t disappoint you.

When you were a kid did you ever imagine or actually attempt running away from home?

Naturally the statistics for most run-aways are pretty grim, ‘They’ would have you believe that runaway teens end up on the streets or dead, or after being on the streets for a while get hooked on drugs end up in prostitution then end up dead. Generally a very bad situation.

Now, I’m sure some kids are rebellious and some are trying to escape a bad situation.

Which type of situation it is for Jakadrien Turner is unclear in the article I found here, but what is clear is that running away from home usually ends up not turning out as planned.

The article goes on to explain…

Lorene Turner tells WFAA that her granddaughter Jakadrien Turner ran away from home in the fall of 2010 when she was just 14. Jakadrien made her way to Houston, TX where she was arrested by police.

Jakadrien gave the police a false name and her new alias just happened to match up with the name of a 22-year-old Colombian citizen who had been in the United States illegally. And to compound Turner’s plight further, the Colombian national had a warrant out for her arrest.

The U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) then deported Jakadrien in April 2011.

It turns out that after Jakadrien was deported, she was given a work card in Colombia and released onto the streets.

“She talked about how they had her working in this big house cleaning all day, and how tired she was,” Turner said.

Jakadrien is now being held in a Colombia detention facility while awaiting more information on her case.

ICE Director of Public Affairs Brian Hale stated, ” At the direction of [the Department of Homeland Security], ICE is fully and immediately investigating this matter in order to expeditiously determine the facts of this case.”

Again, I don’t know what kind of situation Jakadrien was running away from, but short of it being an abusive environment I’m imagining she’s doing a lot more chores now then her grandmother asked her to do around the home.

By the way, when I was 5-ish I had a fantasy of running away from my home which was not awful in any way, but I thought it would be glamorous to give it an attempt.  I dutifully informed my parents of my intentions for about a week or two preceding my planned vacation.  My parents of course did not take me seriously (why would they) and my mother tried to bargain with me there were no Saturday morning cartoons in the woods (I was running away to be in the forest because I wanted to be a wilderness pioneer of sorts) and no candy bars either (which isn’t saying much, my father is diabetic and we didn’t keep any sweets in the house).

I brushed that aside, packed my little brown suitcase with clothes, a few toys, some graham crackers and other snacks and set my bag by the back door the night before saying I was going to leave during the night.

Not kidding, looked just like this.

Some time before dawn I got up and went to the back door.  My suit case was gone!!! I looked around for my suit case all down stairs, I had been very careful to place it next to the door.  I could not find it anywhere near where I had left it and I was loath to look around the house more as I didn’t want to wake up my parents by turning on lights.

I went back to bed and pouted.  Once daylight came out and I could rummage more for my suitcase I tried again, but still could not find it.  I decided I wouldn’t be thwarted so I left anyway, when I got to the garage my coat was gone too. How strange.  Still, it was a matter of principles and I was pretty sure by now my parents were trying to stop me.  I put on my rubber boots, trudged outside in my night-gown and headed towards the back yard.

It was raining… It is the Willamette Valley of Oregon- it is always raining… and it was cold too.

I didn’t want to go to the woods with out a coat and just my nightgown for warmth, but I didn’t want to go back inside and admit defeat so I decided to go hide in the dog’s house under the deck.

My parents meanwhile heard me trolling through the house looking for my suitcase and heard the garage doors open and close and realized I was making a break for it regardless of their efforts to intercede on my designs for independence. They didn’t wait very long, 5 minutes at the most, when my Dad came outside looking for me in his own pair of rubber boots, his white t-shirt and beat-up grungy trouser pants.  I’m pretty sure the dog gave me away because even though I didn’t answer him he walked immediately to the dog house and firmly told me it was time to come inside.

The jig was up. I couldn’t really argue with him. So I came inside and sat down to watch Saturday morning cartoons.  Later I found my suitcase tucked away in a different part of the house.  When I asked my mother about it she blamed my father for hiding it saying he didn’t want me to leave. My parents still laugh about it to this day, “Tracey ran away all the way to the dog house!”

Ha, Ha, Ha...

If you hadn’t taken my suitcase and coat I’d have gotten a lot farther!

Moving back to the realm of creation science has made further advancements with stem-cell research for regenerative medicine thanks in part to the work in Hillsboro, Oregon at the Oregon Natural Primate Research Center.

On Thursday, the new baby macaques, named Roku, Hex and Chimero, were introduced to the world. Led by stem cell developmental biologist Masahito Tachibana, researchers used early-stage stem cells taken directly from monkey four-cell embryos to create 10 chimeric, or genetically mixed, embryos.

The teams combined cells taken from different embryos, then implanted them into female monkeys. Three were carried to term.

The monkeys, four to six months old now, bear up to six genetic lineages among their cells.

The research was conducted to gain better understanding of natural stem cells residing in early embryos and their cultured counterparts called embryonic stem cells, says study senior author Shoukhrat Mitalipov, also with Oregon Health and Science University’s Primate Center.

“We found we had to use these earlier-stage embryonic cells,” Mitalipov said. “The cells work together at this stage.”

For more about Chimeras you can read a prior blog article I wrote called ‘Genetic Chain Train of Thought‘.

Now for your Answers for Famous Women in History:

  1. Betsy Ross
  2. Susan B. Anthony was one of the pioneers of women’s suffrage in the United States.
  3. Dr. Sally Ride became the first American woman to orbit the Earth in 1983. She was also a member of the team chosen to investigate the Challenger explosion in 1986.
  4. Rosa Parks is known for refusing to give up her seat on the bus to a white man during the Civil Rights Movement. This act, and her subsequent arrest, led to a bus boycott that lasted 382 days.
  5. Harriet Tubman
  6. Jane Addams– The Hull-House provided daycare, employment placement, music and art classes, and other neighborhood services to the local immigrant families on Chicago’s Near West Side. This social settlement was founded in 1889.
  7. Hellen Keller
  8. Pocahontas
  9. Sandra Day O’Connor
Leave a Reply

